Nancy Rose Hunt

Professor of History, University of Florida | Professor emeritus of History, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor - Holder of the AUF IMERA Chair
Period of residence: 
September 2022 - January 2023
Research project: 
Postcolonial Limit Situations: A Different Kind of Psychiatric History (out of Bukavu, Congo)
Summary of the research project: 

Nancy Rose Hunt is writing a history about a Congolese city in Africa’s Great Lakes region known as a warzone. Guises of madness are her subject in this study that aims neither at systematic comparison or continuous historicization. Rather, she theorizes through “connected histories” and discontinuous cases of schizophrenic wandering, trauma talk, and grim killings. Unpacking perceptions and manifestations of madness goes with combining grounded and metaphorical evidence.

There is no sure psychiatric epidemiology for Bukavu, known since 1996 as an epicenter of rape and PTSD. Nor is there yet a history of “nervous states” (Hunt 2016) for this once colonial town of the Belgian Congo. Bukavu became known, postwar, as a glamorous, “Riviera”-like holiday town for white settlers and tourists, dotted with Art Deco architecture. An important node in Congo’s decolonization, it also knew an extended white mercenary takeover in the 1960s.

Yet it more Rwanda’s 1994 genocide that anchors this book. A flood of refugees fled into Bukavu from the killings next door. Nancy Rose Hunt sketches in the psychiatric and psychological strands to this crisis, including the opening of a psychiatric hospital. Ethnographic observations also enable etching in this wide "trauma zone." Who has been silenced, and who urged to speak or seek treatment, since 1994? How did PTSD as a diagnostic category materialize? “Trauma talk” burst forth immediately, and such speech is flourishing today.  Experiments emerged as expatriate psychologists arrived, seeking and treating PTSD. UN maladroitness joined a specialized humanitarian economy centered on torn, raped women.

A lopsided counterpoint -- Rwanda and Bukavu -- is salient in imaginaries and materialities, with Kagame’s regime signalling terrible negativities for Bukaviens living near -- or crossing -- the border. Bukavu’s social spectrum stretches from some very highs to many very lows, amid booming mineral economies, criminalities, subterfuge, and a feverish marital economy. Ethnographic traces suggest many spaces and forms of madness, with street-based figures, a psychiatric hospital, borders in practice and imaginaries, and much popular ironizing about the city’s many wandering mad figures.

Dominant therapeutic economies involve rape, trauma, psychopharmaceuticals, faith-based healing, and the diverse methods of tradi-practiciens. Also important beside the fraught border is a matrix of spaces: markets, traffic jams, clinics, PTSD laboratories, and everyday crowds. Since Bukavu’s wider field includes the countrapuntal Rwandan state, fraught representations, symptoms, and suspicions will receive attention, as will the armed intrusions, an astonishing security infrastructure, and transborder circulations in psychiatric training, extractive processes, and paranoia.

The book intervenes in madness and psychiatric studies; histories of violence, genocide, and aafterlives; and methodologies and concepts for postcolonial histories. Methodolologically, it works with intersecting yet disproporionate zones. Her conceit -- that this will be a different kind of psychiatric history – stems from the way she will work with perplexing edges across the individualized and the collective and distill both psychiatric and vernacular planes.

Biography:

Nancy Rose Hunt is an anthropological historian working on madness, psychiatry, care in Africa. She has done fieldwork since 1986 in and near Bujumbura, Accra, Niamey, Agadez, and in Congo-Zaire: Kisangani, Mbandaka, Kinshasa, and Bukavu. Her scholarship has long focused on medicine, healing, and humanitarianism in Africa, including medical, transport, writing, and visual technologies. She has a PhD in History from the University of Wisconsin-Madison (1992), and a BA in the General Humanities from the University of Chicago (1980). As Professor of History and also of Obstetrics/Gynecology at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor over 19 years, she helped shape its Joint PhD Program in Anthropology and History.

With Achille Mbembe, they spearheaded and now co-edit with Todd Meyers a Duke University Press book series, Theory in Forms: https://www.dukeupress.edu/books/browse/by-series/series-detail?IdNumber=4053776&page=2. It showcases political and creative experimentation with writing. A forthcoming volume, co-edited by Hubertus Buschel and Nancy Rose Hunt, Psychiatric Contours: New Africa Histories of Madness, will be part of the series. Hunt is completing Postcolonial Limit Situations: A Different Kind of Psychiatric History (out of Bukavu, Congo).

L’Etat nerveux, in translation, will be published by Les Éditions de l'EHESS in 2023. A Nervous State: Violence, Remedies, and Reverie in Colonial Congo (Duke, 2016) received the Martin AKlein Prize; it considers nervous moods, therapeutic insurgencies, securitization and futures. A Colonial Lexicon: Of Birth Work, Medicalization, and Mobility in the Congo (Duke, 1999) innovated as an ethnographic history of colonial objects, and received the coveted Melville Herskovits Book Prize. Suturing New Medical Histories of Africa (LIT Verlag, 2013) began as the Carl Schlettwein Lecture in Basel. Hunt's articles have appeared in journals like: Past & Present, The Lancet, History Workshop Journal, Africa, Journal of African History, Somatosphere,and Cultural Anthropology. Two articles on historiography and theory recently appeared in History and Theory.

Professor of History at University of Florida in Gainesville since 2016, Nancy Rose Hunt received a Guggenheim in 2018; a 2016 Fulbright for work in Paris and in Niger. She has also received three residential fellowships at the Wissenschaftskolleg in Berlin, the Institute of Advanced Study in Paris, and the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Studies. Other fellowships have come from the Social Science Research Council, Fulbright-IIE, Fulbright-Hays, the Ford Foundation, and the National Science Foundation.

As an undergraduate at University of Chicago, she began work as an archivist in in Chicago and Springfield, Illinois (1978-86). She recasts acquisition priorities in a university archive which she directed, away from Abraham Lincoln and towards Global 1968 in this town along the Mason-Dixon line. Such skills and sensibilities—provenance, layers, immediacy, the ordinary—have been important in creative projects ever since, including ethnographic filmmaking in Ghana and the conservation of vernacular archives. Since 2000, she has been researching sequential art production, notably the vernacular oeuvre of Papa Mfumu’eto le Premier, whose BD archive she salvaged in Kinshasa and now forms part of preservation, digital, and exhibition projects linking scholars and institutions in Florida, Europe, and Congo. At Michigan, she conceptualized and directed the “Women’s Health in the City of Accra Project,” a transnational, qualitative research seminar (1999-2001), which inspired Ghanaian and American students to collaborate, investigate, and document, while writing ethnographic stories. She has taught many other courses over the years including: “Health and Illness in African Worlds,” “Imagining the Congo,” “Theory for Historians,” and “Race and What is Madness?”


Media Resources about Nancy Rose Hunt's work

University of Florida - Nancy Rose Hunt's Page

Nancy Rose Hunt

Professeur d'histoire, Université de Floride | Professeur émérite d'Histoire, Université du Michigan à Ann Arbor - Titulaire de la chaire AUF IMéRA
Période de résidence: 
Septembre 2022 - Juillet 2023
Projet de recherche: 
Situations limites postcoloniales : un autre type d'histoire psychiatrique (hors de Bukavu, Congo)
Résumé du projet: 

Nancy Rose Hunt écrit une histoire sur une ville congolaise de la région des Grands Lacs en Afrique connue comme une zone de guerre. Les apparences de la folie sont son sujet dans cette étude qui ne vise ni la comparaison systématique ni l'historisation continue. Au contraire, elle théorise à travers des «histoires connectées» et des cas discontinus d'errance schizophrène, de discours sur les traumatismes et de sinistres meurtres. Déballer les perceptions et les manifestations de la folie va de pair avec la combinaison de preuves fondées et métaphoriques.

Il n'y a pas d'épidémiologie psychiatrique certaine pour Bukavu, connue depuis 1996 comme un épicentre du viol et du SSPT. Il n'y a pas non plus d'histoire d'« états nerveux » (Hunt 2016) pour cette ville autrefois coloniale du Congo belge. Bukavu est devenue connue, après la guerre, comme une ville de vacances glamour, semblable à la "Riviera", pour les colons blancs et les touristes, parsemée d'architecture Art Déco. Noeud important de la décolonisation du Congo, il a également connu une longue prise de contrôle par des mercenaires blancs dans les années 1960.

Pourtant, c'est davantage le génocide rwandais de 1994 qui ancre ce livre. Un flot de réfugiés s'est enfui à Bukavu à cause des tueries d'à côté. Nancy Rose Hunt esquisse les volets psychiatriques et psychologiques de cette crise, notamment l'ouverture d'un hôpital psychiatrique. Les observations ethnographiques permettent également de graver dans cette large « zone traumatique ». Qui a été réduit au silence et qui a été invité à parler ou à se faire soigner depuis 1994 ? Comment le SSPT en tant que catégorie diagnostique s'est-il matérialisé ? Le « discours sur les traumatismes » a éclaté immédiatement, et un tel discours est florissant aujourd'hui. Des expériences ont émergé lorsque des psychologues expatriés sont arrivés, recherchant et traitant le SSPT. La maladresse de l'ONU a rejoint une économie humanitaire spécialisée centrée sur les femmes déchirées et violées.

Un contrepoint déséquilibré - le Rwanda et Bukavu - est saillant dans les imaginaires et les matérialités, le régime de Kagame signalant de terribles négativités pour les Bukaviens vivant près - ou traversant - la frontière. Le spectre social de Bukavu s'étend de très hauts à de nombreux très bas, au milieu d'économies minières en plein essor, de criminalités, de subterfuges et d'une économie conjugale fiévreuse. Les traces ethnographiques suggèrent de nombreux espaces et formes de folie, avec des personnages de la rue, un hôpital psychiatrique, des frontières dans les pratiques et les imaginaires, et beaucoup d'ironie populaire sur les nombreux fous errants de la ville.

Les économies thérapeutiques dominantes impliquent le viol, les traumatismes, les psychopharmaceutiques, la guérison basée sur la foi et les diverses méthodes des tradi-praticiens. Une matrice d'espaces est également importante à côté de la frontière tendue : marchés, embouteillages, cliniques, laboratoires de SSPT et foules quotidiennes. Puisque le champ plus large de Bukavu inclut l'État rwandais contre-pointal, les représentations lourdes, les symptômes et les soupçons retiendront l'attention, tout comme les intrusions armées, une infrastructure de sécurité étonnante et les circulations transfrontalières dans la formation psychiatrique, les processus extractifs et la paranoïa.

Le livre intervient dans la folie et les études psychiatriques ; des histoires de violence, de génocide et d'au-delà ; et méthodologies et concepts pour les histoires postcoloniales. Méthodologiquement, cela fonctionne avec des zones sécantes mais disproportionnées. Sa vanité - qu'il s'agira d'un type différent d'histoire psychiatrique - découle de la façon dont elle travaillera avec des bords déroutants à travers l'individuel et le collectif et distillera à la fois les plans psychiatrique et vernaculaire.

Biographie :

Nancy Rose Hunt est une historienne anthropologue travaillant sur la folie, la psychiatrie, les soins en Afrique. Elle a fait du terrain depuis 1986 à et près de Bujumbura, Accra, Niamey, Agadez, et au Congo-Zaïre : Kisangani, Mbandaka, Kinshasa et Bukavu. Sa bourse s'est longtemps concentrée sur la médecine, la guérison et l'humanitarisme en Afrique, y compris les technologies médicales, de transport, d'écriture et visuelles. Elle est titulaire d'un doctorat en histoire de l'Université du Wisconsin-Madison (1992) et d'une licence en sciences humaines générales de l'Université de Chicago (1980). En tant que professeur d'histoire et également d'obstétrique/gynécologie à l'Université du Michigan à Ann Arbor pendant 19 ans, elle a contribué à façonner son programme de doctorat conjoint en anthropologie et histoire.

Avec Achille Mbembe, ils ont dirigé et coédité avec Todd Meyers une série de livres de Duke University Press, Theory in Forms : https://www.dukeupress.edu/books/browse/by-series/series-detail?IdNumber... =2. Il met en valeur l'expérimentation politique et créative de l'écriture. Un volume à paraître, co-édité par Hubertus Buschel et Nancy Rose Hunt, Psychiatric Contours: New Africa Histories of Madness, fera partie de la série. Hunt achève Postcolonial Limit Situations: A Different Kind of Psychiatric History (hors de Bukavu, Congo).

L'Etat nerveux, en cours de traduction, paraîtra aux Éditions de l'EHESS en 2023. A Nervous State : Violence, Remedies, and Reverie in Colonial Congo (Duke, 2016) a reçu le prix Martin AKlein ; il considère les humeurs nerveuses, les insurrections thérapeutiques, la sécurisation et les futurs. A Colonial Lexicon: Of Birth Work, Medicalization, and Mobility in the Congo (Duke, 1999) a innové en tant qu'histoire ethnographique des objets coloniaux et a reçu le très convoité Melville Herskovits Book Prize. Suturing New Medical Histories of Africa (LIT Verlag, 2013) a commencé par la conférence Carl Schlettwein à Bâle. Les articles de Hunt ont été publiés dans des revues telles que : Past & Present, The Lancet, History Workshop Journal, Africa, Journal of African History, Somatosphere et Cultural Anthropology. Deux articles sur l'historiographie et la théorie ont récemment paru dans History and Theory.

Professeur d'histoire à l'Université de Floride à Gainesville depuis 2016, Nancy Rose Hunt a reçu un Guggenheim en 2018 ; un Fulbright 2016 pour des travaux à Paris et au Niger. Elle a également reçu trois bourses résidentielles au Wissenschaftskolleg de Berlin, à l'Institut d'études avancées de Paris et à l'Institut néerlandais d'études avancées. D'autres bourses sont venues du Conseil de recherche en sciences sociales, de Fulbright-IIE, de Fulbright-Hays, de la Fondation Ford et de la National Science Foundation.

En tant qu'étudiante de licence à l'Université de Chicago, elle a commencé à travailler comme archiviste à Chicago et Springfield, Illinois (1978-86). Elle refond les priorités d'acquisition dans une archive universitaire qu'elle a dirigée, loin d'Abraham Lincoln et vers Global 1968 dans cette ville le long de la ligne Mason-Dixon. Ces compétences et sensibilités – provenance, strates, immédiateté, ordinaire – ont été importantes dans les projets créatifs depuis, y compris la réalisation de films ethnographiques au Ghana et la conservation des archives vernaculaires. Depuis 2000, elle fait des recherches sur la production d'art séquentiel, notamment l'œuvre vernaculaire de Papa Mfumu'eto le Premier, dont elle a récupéré les archives BD à Kinshasa et fait maintenant partie de projets de préservation, numériques et d'exposition reliant des universitaires et des institutions en Floride, en Europe. , et Congo. Au Michigan, elle a conceptualisé et dirigé le « Women's Health in the City of Accra Project », un séminaire transnational de recherche qualitative (1999-2001), qui a inspiré des étudiants ghanéens et américains à collaborer, enquêter et documenter, tout en écrivant des histoires ethnographiques. Elle a enseigné de nombreux autres cours au fil des ans, notamment : « Santé et maladie dans les mondes africains », « Imaginer le Congo », « Théorie pour les historiens » et « La race et qu'est-ce que la folie ? »


Ressources médiatiques sur le travail de Nancy Rose Hunt

Université de Floride - Page de Nancy Rose Hunt